Limoncello lemon drizzle cake

image

With a massive bag of polenta languishing at the back of the cupboard after needing a tiny bit for a recipe months ago, I thought it was about time I tried to use some of it.
This recipe only uses 50g but hey, I’ve got to start somewhere.
I used Angela Nilson’s Lighter Lemon Drizzle Cake recipe from the BBC Good Food website for the sponge but made a limoncello syrup to use as the drizzle for a bit of a twist.
To make this I put 150g of caster sugar, 60ml of cold water and the juice of a lemon in a pan over a low heat until the sugar dissolved. I let this cool slightly and added a couple of tablespoons of limoncello before making some holes in the sponge and pouring it over.
I’d recommend doing this while the sponge is still warm as it seems to absorb better.
The photo above is pre-drizzle as it wasn’t around long enough to photograph afterwards!
The texture of the sponge was gorgeous – really light and slightly crumbly – and I enjoyed the kick from the limoncello in the syrup.

Leave a Reply

